Ode to Harry Potter & Summer

Remember discovering Harry Potter? I certainly do!

I remember walking into Ms. Walkers 4th grade class and hearing the class bully raving to her about this book “Harry Potter & the Sorcerers Stone”. I didn’t even know he could read. Gasp* But I took his advice, and now 12 years later I have never looked back.

I remember at first having my mother read the first book two books to me before going to bed at night. They were the types of books that you could just never put down. My first grown-up books. Reading Harry Potter was like saying, look at me! I can now read and enjoy a book that isn’t  Cat in the Hat or the Bernstein Bears.

I remember summers at camp and fights with my bunk-mates over precious copies of Harry Potter.I was one of the lucky few to have ordered it online, and usually had it delivered to me in rural Colorado.

I remember walking with my mom through airports, and seeing the book on display in windows, and her making me wait to buy it because it was much too expensive in the airport.

I remember sitting on toilets because I couldn’t put the book down.

I remember the midnight Harry Potter parties at the local Barnes & Nobles, running around with my friends in a cape, wand, and yes, even a Harry Potter tattoo on my forehead.

I remember starting rumors about what happened in Harry Potter.

I remember eating Bertie Botts all you can eat Jelly Beans at 7/11 with my friends, and eating all the disgusting flavored ones, such as booger, & vomit.

I remember waiting for a letter from Hogwarts.

Harry Potter has been such a large influence in my life. The books, and films always came out during the summer holidays. It has been such a fixture in my life, like a visit once a year from a much loved relative.

Summer always meant a bit of Harry Potter magic, and Harry Potter always mean summer time freedom. A reminder during the summer, that this is the time to just let your imagination wander. Now with the last Harry Potter movie coming out, I can’t help but feel a little sad, and maybe a little bit nostalgic. Nostalgic of those moments of magic, and curiosity, and that feeling of never knowing what would come next.

I was babysitting for a little 7 year old boy, who has read all 6 books, and is now starting the 7th one. What a different Harry Potter he has!

I remember Harry Potter as a  companion who joined me, every summer. A Harry Potter, who always had me waiting, always yearning….

This constant yearning reminds me of my literary hero, Jay Gatsby “who “believed in the green light, the orgiastic future that year by year recedes before us…it eluded us then, but that’s no matter—tomorrow we will run faster stretch our arms farther….”

And so with the last of Harry Potter coming to an end for the final movie installment, I hold up a proverbial glass for Harry Potter: “Here is this ode to you, for giving me a childhood where my imagination, excitement, and curiosity never had the misfortune to be quenched.

One response to “Ode to Harry Potter & Summer

  1. Oh Dorry, you never seize to make me laugh, to force my lips to smile, or to make me happy! Your blog is really helping me to get a Dorry fix from time to time (which is very essential I’ll have you know!).

Leave a Reply

